Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Clean install Yosemite

Since upgrading my late 2013 MacBook pro to Yosemite it has become an unstable mess, kernel panics, distnoted maxing out the processors, wifi & Bluetooth issues. Reminiscent of windows upgrades (note to apple, please can you go back to quality over quantity!!!!).

I Have applied the latest patch and contacted apple support, we reset the NVRAM & SMC and performing diskrepair & fix permissions from the system partition. There were some files that are listed as repaired but after a reboot and rerunning fix permissions from the system partition still come up as having permission errors, and I still get kernel panics and distnoted issues.

I am now thinking that a clean install may be the only option to get a stable notebook again. However I am not technical and after reading a number of clean install instructions I am more confused. I need to restore mail data, iPhoto, iTunes and keychain, I can download program files and my files.

Are there any reliable instructions for the non technical how to perform a clean Yosemite install?

any assistance will be greatly appreciated

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Posted on Nov 30, 2014 4:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 30, 2014 2:17 PM

Do a backup before doing anything, preferable 2.

If you want to make a clean install of Mountain Lion, boot into the Recovery Volume (command - R) on a restart, use Disk Utility to Verify/Repair the disk and run Repair Permissions. Then erase the hard drive using Mac OS Extended (Journaled) format using the Options button. Reinstall Yosemite. Restart normally and test. Use Setup Assistant or Migration Assistant to import what you want.

Clean Install

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 30, 2014 2:17 PM in response to Mark808

Do a backup before doing anything, preferable 2.