Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I re-hide folders?

I've been using my macbook for about 2 years, and have gone through both the mavericks & yosemite updates. Before I did this, however, I decided it was a good idea to permanently unhide all folders everywhere, and now I can't get them hidden again (I can see .ds_store and .TRASHES most of the time, it depends on what folder I'm in). I do not know how I did it, but i remember pasting something into terminal about a week after I got the computer. Any help on re-hiding these folders that are hidden by default would be spectacular.

MacBook, OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on Dec 1, 2014 10:29 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 14, 2017 12:21 AM

Hi Teke0884,

This should help you with the hidden files on finder.

Paste this on Terminal and hit "Return"

Hide: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO

Unhide: defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES

Relaunch the Finder by Holding "Alt or Option" and click Relaunch.

Cheers

Greig Quinn

19 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 14, 2017 12:21 AM in response to teke0884

Hi Teke0884,

This should help you with the hidden files on finder.

Paste this on Terminal and hit "Return"

Hide: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO

Unhide: defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES

Relaunch the Finder by Holding "Alt or Option" and click Relaunch.

Cheers

Greig Quinn

Dec 1, 2014 10:30 AM in response to teke0884

Enable Finder to Show Invisible Files and Folders

Open the Terminal application in your Utilities folder. At the prompt enter or paste the following command line then press RETURN.

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE

killall Finder

To turn off the display of invisible files and folders enter or paste the following command line and press RETURN.

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles FALSE