Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hacked personal hotspot?

I noticed two connections on my personal hotspot while at a coffee shop. I quickly turned it off and when I turned it back on, it showed only one connection which was me. It appears that my personal hotspot password was not changed as I have noticed has happened with others. Maybe I turned it off quickly enough. What benefit would someone have to do this other than for malicious activity? I was using my ipad and had to briefly log into one of my brokerage sites (I have never done this before but assumed my hotspot was secure) Is my hotspot not secure and could they have possibly retrieved passwords from my ipad during this time?

iPhone 5

Posted on Dec 10, 2014 1:24 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 10, 2014 1:37 PM

The Hotspot provides access to the internet through your iPhone. Nothing more. There is no direct access to the iPhone or your iPad. Nothing would have been retrieved from either device.

The Hotspot would be visible to everybody close enough and looking for Wireless networks to connect to, but without the password they would not be able to actually connect.

Your best security measure is to change your Hotspot password to something hard to guess.

But as it stands you have nothing to worry about.

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 10, 2014 1:37 PM in response to $IMCaptain

The Hotspot provides access to the internet through your iPhone. Nothing more. There is no direct access to the iPhone or your iPad. Nothing would have been retrieved from either device.

The Hotspot would be visible to everybody close enough and looking for Wireless networks to connect to, but without the password they would not be able to actually connect.

Your best security measure is to change your Hotspot password to something hard to guess.

But as it stands you have nothing to worry about.