Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

airplay prank, need to find culprit

I am a desktop support technician at a highschool, and a few of our staff have macbooks instead of windows computers. Specifically one of them has a macbook pro with retina, and os x mavericks. Today a few images poped up in full screen on his macbook, and it looks to me like someone did airplay from their device to his.

My question is, is there a log of this kind of activity that might give the ip address, mac address, or device name or any such information, and if so, where would could i find that log file?

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Dec 12, 2014 4:39 PM

7 replies

Sep 23, 2015 2:53 PM in response to hzuiel

Full Disclosure: I found this thread while looking for ways to screw with some vulnerable airplay devices in the school library, so OP probably wouldn't like me much. In addition the next few paragraphs are definitions and my personal editorial commentary. I must be biased, so take it all with a grain of salt.

It's almost a year later, (so this is really for anyone who comes here in the future), but if memory serves me right Yosemite was out last year by the time this post was written. I know yosemite has had airplay from the start, possible Mavericks as well. Basically it isn't new. It's forgivable to confuse airdrop and airplay, because apple lacks the creativity to come up with new names. They are however not the same.

Definitions: