Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Will Adobe CS5.5 Work on Yosemite?

I was wondering if anybody who has downloaded the Yosemite update and uses CS5.5 software, if your software was able to work? I really need to know because I got the CS5.5 creative suite (at the student price and version) when I was a student in college, but I had received a faulty disc that didn't work so both times I've had to install it by calling Adobe Tech Support (since my Macbook Pro Graphics card went out, thus replaced it with my current Macbook Air, Mid 2011) via a download code they sent me both times.

I am an artist and have a degree in Graphic Design, so having my Adobe programs work is very important to me! It's also my only source of income at the moment via art commissions.

These are the Programs I need to know about

*Flash CS5.5

*Ilustrator CS5.1

*InDesign CS5.5

*Photoshop CS5.1

My current setup is OS X 10.7.5 Lion and everything works fine. I refuse to upgrade my Mac unless I know my programs will work or until Yosemite fixes the glitches with the Adobe programs (according to reviews I've read.. most negative 😟 thus I'm really scared to upgrade).

Please help!

MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Dec 15, 2014 8:44 AM

7 replies

Dec 15, 2014 12:34 PM in response to Chelseafromoh

Application Compatibility

Applications Compatibility (2)

One option is to create a new partition (~30- 50 GB), install the new OS, and ‘test drive’ it. If you like/don’t like it it, you can then remove the partition. Do a backup before you do anything. By doing this, if you don’t like it you won't have to go though the revert process.

Dec 15, 2014 1:55 PM in response to Eric Root

What exactly is a partition? And do you know if there is a way to backup these programs, like onto a disc? (Since as I said earlier I only got these programs via a download code online from Tech Support almost 3 years ago).