Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Transferring, converting and duplicate problems.

Please please bare with me with my questions, and keep in mind I'm okay with computers but not an expert by any means.

I have been packing around an external hard drive for several years now with aprox 70gb of music and audio books.

I am on the road all summer and decided I just want all my audio with me instead of being in the mood for a certain genre of music and not having it with me.

So I have recently purchased the 160gb iPod.

I'm excited to get everything transferred over but I'm running into a few hair pulling problems.

A lot of my music on the hard drive was copied onto my computer years ago via windows media. So iTunes needs to convert these.. Which I think is working okay.. But I do get a lot of duplicates in my library. (Copies of the same song will either be lightly texted, and then solid black. They all appear to play. So I'll go through and delete say the lightly texted ones. (This happens if I choose the solid black ones too) I have them removed from iTunes but not perm from my computer...because im too scared of doing perm damage to my music library With not being 100% sure where these are perm removing it from.

HOWEVER, while I was doing this and thinking it was going along great, I started noticing it would delete my entire album I was working on! I was only deleted what I thought was duplicates and leaving a set of tracks in the album and the entire thing would disappear from my iTunes.

THis has also happened when I have deleted the "broken" tracks. The ones with ! Next to the song. I'll have the track fixed under it which plays, but once I delete the broken track, even the good track disappears.