Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Magic Mouse doing "swipe back" when trying to scroll down post-Yosemite

I've been using my magic mouse for 3 years since I purchased my iMac, and have never had any issues with it. Since upgrading to Yosemite, much of the time (enough to be extremely annoying - 20% or so?), when scrolling down on a web page, the mouse reads the gesture as a swipe back instead of a scroll. I've attempted to hold the mouse at a different angle, which is uncomfortable and doesn't really help any in any case. Is there a way to recalibrate the gestures so that it re-learns what scrolling down looks like (and stops going to the previous page, gah!)? Another solution?

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Posted on Jan 4, 2015 9:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 5, 2015 3:40 PM

Similar issue for me, and it appears to be intermittent. On some pages, when scrolling up via the Magic Mouse I get the "Swipe Back" behavior. This is a pain when completing forms and accidentally navigating away.

I just starting testing this and it's definitely intermittent. I'm using trello.com, and when inside a board or list, I can scroll up repeatedly, then start to get Swip Back when scrolling up. I've been noticing this behavior for a few weeks now, and just put it together that it may be the Yosemite upgrade.

Funny thing is it doesn't seem to happen for me on Apple.com.

65 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 5, 2015 3:40 PM in response to avalei

Similar issue for me, and it appears to be intermittent. On some pages, when scrolling up via the Magic Mouse I get the "Swipe Back" behavior. This is a pain when completing forms and accidentally navigating away.