Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

EXS24 instrument “Rock Kit.exs” not found.

I am a middle school teacher and we just upgraded our Macs for our music students. We are trying to teach GarageBand and are running into a problem with all of the MIDI drum kit loops. Whenever you try to add a drum loop, you get this error message:

It's not just the Rock Kit, the Pop Kit, Hip Hop Kit, etc. are all missing.

Can someone please help out here?

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on Jan 6, 2015 9:23 AM

9 replies

Jan 6, 2015 10:11 AM in response to Kedryn Alan

I am a middle school teacher and we just upgraded our Macs for our music students.

What did you upgrade? MacOS X? GarageBand? Which versions of MacOS X and GarageBand are now on the students's machines?

If you upgraded to GarageBand 10.0, the instruments from the older GarageBand '11 will now probably be missing, if you uninstalled GarageBand '11. Then restore all missing files from an older backup.

The missing Rock Kit should be installed in the system library, directly at the top level of the system HD, at

/Library/Application Support/GarageBand/Instrument Library/Sampler/Sampler Instruments/Rock Kit.exs

Check, if you can restore any missing files in the Instrument library from the backup.

Jan 7, 2015 10:54 AM in response to léonie

Hi, I have a similar problem, I upgraded to GB 10.0.3, I'm opening a song created in a previous version of Garageband. It complains that it can't find "Nature Sounds" and "Jazz Kit" EKS files, but the files are present in /Library/Application Support/GarageBand/Instrument Library/Sampler/Sampler Instruments/

I did the full download of new sounds as well.

How do I get GB 10.0.3 to see these older files?

Jan 7, 2015 11:16 AM in response to whafrog

I just figured out an imperfect solution. You have to quit Garageband and copy the EKS files and subfolders from: