Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Joystick on Mac

Does anyone know of a way to verify connection and calibration of a USB joystick on a Mac? I am brand new to the Mac OS and one of the programs I would really like to use is X-Plane. My System Report indicates that it recognizes my joystick as connected to a USB port. I downloaded the X-Plane demo and the settings menu within the simulator software does not recognize the joystick. I know that X-Plane was originally developed on a Mac so I feel certain that there is a way to solve this. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Posted on Jan 8, 2015 5:06 AM

10 replies

Jan 8, 2017 8:44 PM in response to m306153nv

Removing USB Overdrive worked immediately on my Yosemite Macbook Pro (2015). There was a caviat: BEFORE I installed the app, my MBP didn't work at all with my old 3d Extreme stick last used with Win XP. It did not even detect it's presence. One forum suggested USB Overdrive as a way to at least create an interface, so i installed it. It could see the joystick. Unfortunately, my stick still didn't work in my flight sim. Thanks to THIS forum, I deleted USB Overdrive and the joystick worked as if it had been written for OSX 10.10.5 instead of an old MS OS. Why it worked, I have no idea...but it got me flying.

Jan 8, 2015 7:04 AM in response to m306153nv

Welcome!

Your post somehow found its way to a low-traffic forum about technical issues with posting in Apple Support Communities. If you tell us what Mac product you have, we can ask the Hosts to move you to a more active and appropriate forum for your product.

I like flight sims and have an older X-Plane version on a geriatric Mac in the spare room. I can tell you that there are very few flight simmers around here...you will probably get a more detailed and faster response in the x-plane.org forums or the X-Plane forums at AVSIM:

http://forums.x-plane.org

http://forum.avsim.net