Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Missing Patches from Garageband Library?

I am a little new to Garageband but I believe that there are more patches available than the ones that I am seeing (see screenshot). At one time, I thought there were piano & strings patches (as well as others). I attempted to "Restore Sound Library" and a download was started but after the download and install and restarting Garageband, nothing really seemed to change. Does anyone know why I am only seeing 3 patch categories available (Voice, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar and Bass)?

User uploaded file

GarageBand 10, OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on Jan 14, 2015 11:03 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 14, 2015 11:35 AM

The patches you are seeing will depend on the kind of the track you selected. Do you have a real instrument track selected or a software instrument track?

I attempted to "Restore Sound Library" and a download was started but after the download and install and restarting Garageband, nothing really seemed to change.

You should at least see more loops. And you need to restart the Mac, not only GarageBand, to see if something has been installed.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 14, 2015 11:35 AM in response to mix0mat0sis

The patches you are seeing will depend on the kind of the track you selected. Do you have a real instrument track selected or a software instrument track?

I attempted to "Restore Sound Library" and a download was started but after the download and install and restarting Garageband, nothing really seemed to change.

You should at least see more loops. And you need to restart the Mac, not only GarageBand, to see if something has been installed.

May 27, 2015 6:27 PM in response to léonie