Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

pull content from mail message & export to excel

I am a teacher who uses an online system to assign homework and quizzes.

As of right now, the finished HW/quizzes are emailed to me as a "results" email message.

I have a rule that sends all of these messages to a folder in my Mail app.

What I want to do is to extract the score from the content of the email and export it, preferably to Excel. I am going to post a screenshot of what these messages look like to give you an idea of what I'm saying:

User uploaded file

I am very flexible on how this is accomplished, but I thought making a rule in Mail would be good, telling it to run an AppleScript for all of these messages. What I don't know how to do is to pull the score out of the mail message and match it to the student name and export it to a text file or an excel file or something.

If someone could help me with this I would greatly, greatly, GREATLY appreciate it. I have searched a little on github and this site but I can't seem to find a script that meets my needs.

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), mid-2012 MBA 13" 128G bought 8/12

Posted on Jan 14, 2015 1:32 PM

5 replies

Jan 14, 2015 11:07 PM in response to sirdanielm

Hello

What score are you trying to retrieve from the message? The "100" of "with a final grade of 100%"?

If so, will it suffice for the script to yield a CSV text file like the following for a collection of messages selected in Mail.app?

"Student Name","Score" "justin baker","100" "john smith","80" "jane bloggs","90" ...

Regards,

H

PS. Or other possibility would be:

"Student Name","Score","Correct","Incorrect","Unanswered" "justin baker","100",5,0,0 "john smith","60",3,1,1 "jane bloggs","80",4,1,0 ...

EDIT: added PS.

Jan 15, 2015 7:08 PM in response to sirdanielm

Hello