Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

understanding i cloud

understanding icloud

I has actually been very difficult to get precise ,clear information on the net ,as to how a "simpleton " can get going with the cloud and to basic functionally of the whole concept

Most sites talk about 'i cloud drive ' and others TELL YOU WHAT THE CLOUD DOES ,but dont tell you how to set it all up and use it with clear graphic/illiustrated examples.

so i have eventually ,from my own intuition and a certain understanding of mac ,finally made some progress

OK i am new to i cloud

i own 3 apple devices--iphone/macbook/imac.

i have opened an apple iCloud account /id., and have sync,d the devices toghether using system preferences ,photo stream (i photo)

It appears to work

however i still have many unanswered questions

and I would be grateful for help..................for starters:-

a)I believe that the correct way/Only way to access the saved info is through iCloud .com ?

b) is the saved information all bundled together ,or is it possible to access each devices' content individually?

c) from what i understand ,it is only possible for iCloud to store MAC software created documents etc.. (e.g. pages /numbers) ? if this is the case

How can i back up my other documents.

d) where how do i access the cloud from my i phone ?

thanks in advance for answers

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on Jan 18, 2015 3:36 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 18, 2015 3:44 AM

a) the "correct" way to access the saved files is through your devices (see (b)). It's integrated in OS X and iOS. The iCloud.com is just a way to access your iCloud files if you don't have a nearby Mac or iOS Device.

b) everything is bundled. in fact all the info on one device will be exactly the same as what is on the other devices.