Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Pop up problems in Safari on OS X Yosemite!

My pop up blocker is activated, and Cookies are only allowed on websites I visit frequently, yet i have been having a recurring issue on my Macbook air (11in, 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3) ever since I updated the software on my laptop to OS X Yosemite. The issue is with a website called Offers4u and smartsearch.net, but i cannot find anything up to date about how to get rid of this. I have spoken to a person from apple over the phone who went through possible reasons with me, and i went through all of the links on another page to find the issue but found NOTHING. If i want a troubleshoot i have to pay £25 as I've had the mac since 2012 but as i am a student and on a student loan that already gives me very little it is difficult for me to be able to do that.

If anyone would be of any help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2012), OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on Jan 22, 2015 12:31 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 22, 2015 12:33 PM

Helpful Links Regarding Malware Problems

If you are having an immediate problem with ads popping up see The Safe Mac » Adware Removal Guide, AdwareMedic, or Remove unwanted adware that displays pop-up ads and graphics on your Mac - Apple Support.

Open Safari, select Preferences from the Safari menu. Click on Extensions icon in the toolbar. Disable all Extensions. If this stops your problem, then re-enable them one by one until the problem returns. Now remove that extension as it is causing the problem.

The following comes from user stevejobsfan0123. I have made minor changes to adapt to this presentation.

Fix Some Browser Pop-ups That Take Over Safari.