Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.4.8 M-Audio Firewire Audiophile problems

My M-Audio Firewire Audiophile does not work since I upgraded to 10.4.8. I am getting quite annoyed about Apple's claim to work straight out of the box, that silly little advert you can download. It is not true anymore. It did under power PC but you've gone badly wrong Apple since you moved to Intel.

As a musician I choose Apple not to have to deal with these issues, sort it out quickly or I'll be going to Windows because it is cheaper. I spend the extra $ so that I don't have to deal with these problems.

iMac 20 inch 2ghz x 2, Mac OS X (10.4.8)

Posted on Oct 6, 2006 3:37 PM

13 replies

Oct 6, 2006 4:44 PM in response to MrZiffer

I had a quick look at the driver pages for the M-Audio Firewire Audiophile. It appears that they have published new drivers for every single revision of Mac OS X for quite a while. The last one was for 10.4.7 at the end of September '06 about 3 months after 10.4.7 was released.

This suggests that the device must be working with very low level stuff in OS X that is prone to change and M-Audio need to engineer for each release because of this.

I don't know if it is possible to go back to 10.4.7 but if your issue is driver related, that might be the best course of action.

I hope that is of some help.

Oct 7, 2006 2:01 AM in response to MrZiffer

Thanks for the advice guys.

The problem is that when I switch on my Audiophile - it just goes into panic mode. All the lights flash on the unit.

I've put a note out to M-Audio technical support. They say that they do not support 10.3.8 yet!

This puts users between a rock and a hard place. How can we trust Apple? It will be hard to go back to 10.4.7 as I will have to reinstall tiger which will take be back to 10.4.4 which was also full of bugs and glitches! If I do a software update it will take me back to 10.4.8!