Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Multiple users on multiple macs sharing iPhoto Library

How can different family members (using personal logins) all access the same iPhoto library, regardless of which of our two iMacs they happen to be logged into?

I thought the solution would be as simple as:

1. Plug an external hard drive into the Airport Time Capsule.
  2. Copy our iPhoto library onto the external hard drive.
  3. Log in as each user, open iPhoto and point to the iPhoto library on the external hard drive.

I've searched the support forums and can't find a successful example of this. Does it work? If not, is there another elegant solution?

I'd also be interested in how to back up the 'networked' iPhoto library. I plan to use iPhoto's "publish to Flickr" capability for this as it also solves how to share photos with our family's many iOS devices.

Ps. I'm new to the Mac environment so am still learning my way with OSX (be gentle please).

Equipment

x2 iMacs (<12 months old) running the latest OSX and iPhoto software versions

2TB Airport Time Capsule (brand new) with a 1TB USB external hard drive plugged-in (not sure of the formatting).

iMac, iOS 8.1.2

Posted on Jan 27, 2015 1:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 27, 2015 1:52 PM

You can not

iPhoto is not a multi usr application and it can not be used on a network

You need a more expensive (and more capable ) application - there is a Digital Asset Manager (DAM) forum that discusses many different DAM solutions - for your needs iphoto simply is not one to consider

For sharing with IOS devices MyPhotoStream or Shared PhotoStreams is a great solution

LN

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 27, 2015 1:52 PM in response to Koheru

You can not

iPhoto is not a multi usr application and it can not be used on a network