Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

itunes update 12.0.1 causing crackling music on playback.

I updated my itunes with the new 12.0.1 update. I started playing music and noticed weird crackling in the playback of songs, not unbearable static just odd crackling noises that you can easily notice and ruin the music experience. Sometimes the crackling is worst then other times. I checked my speakers they were fine and also played my music through Windows Media Player and it was also perfectly fine and clear. What could this be?

Itunes-OTHER, Windows 8

Posted on Jan 31, 2015 6:12 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 31, 2015 6:22 PM

There is an alternative downloader for 64-bit editions of Windows here:

iTunes 12.1 for Windows (64-bit — for older video cards)

that seems to address the playback issues that some users have been reporting with the full 64-bit version (the alternative installer here is the same architecture as most previous "64-bit" versions of iTunes, i.e., a 32-bit application with a 64-bit installer). The "for older video cards" appears to be something of a misnomer as some people have reported that this corrects problems found on current / high-spec systems.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 31, 2015 6:22 PM in response to Boiwoda

There is an alternative downloader for 64-bit editions of Windows here:

iTunes 12.1 for Windows (64-bit — for older video cards)