Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Viewing Tools Not Showing in iMovie 11

I've been using iMovie 8 for Mac for several years and just upgraded to iMovie 11 today but for some reason I can't get the display to work right so I can't find the tools I'm used to using! This won't let me upload a snapshot, so here's a link to a video that is showing what I'm missing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHF6OcdnZJo

The part right under the browser at the top and the play movie is missing on my version - that little strip with the video camera, then the "swap arrows" then right in the middle where it has a cursor and other tools... How do I get that to display in iMovie 11? It obviously is still there because this tutorial is iMovie 11! I just can't find it!

Thanks so much for any help...

Jacki

Mac Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2), Yosemite

Posted on Feb 3, 2015 11:26 AM

1 reply

Feb 5, 2015 11:51 AM in response to Jacki

Hi Jacki,

When you open your iMovie application and click on iMovie > About iMovie on the menu bar -- what version do you see? I'm assuming you are actually using iMovie 2013 (version 10.0.6) and that is why you are seeing a different layout.

If that is the case, then the article below will help you understand the layout of the version of iMovie you are working with. If I am misunderstanding your situation, please reply back with additional information.

iMovie (2013): Tips For iMovie ’11 Users - Apple Support
http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202954

iMovie (2013): Tips For iMovie ’11 Users

iMovie (2013) introduced an all-new, streamlined design. If you used a previous version of iMovie, you’ll find that some features work differently or have moved to a different part of the app. Learn about these changes with the topics below.

Add titles, transitions, music, and maps