Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does Airplay keep dropping?

I work in a school technology department. I'm "the mac guy." So it's on my shoulders to figure out why Airplay is so unreliable on our school's network. After several minutes of streaming from iOS devices to an AppleTV, the stream will just stop. I've heard this complaint from all the users of AppleTVs on campus as well as having experienced it myself.

In my office, we have an AppleTV setup that connects to some nice Bose speakers in the ceiling. I've been testing by putting on iTunes radio and just listening while I work. When I Airplay from my iPhone or iPad, I'm lucky if I get through a whole song. Sometimes, oddly, it will go for 15 or 20 minutes, but that's about the max I've been getting from it. When the music does suddenly stop playing, the AppleTV has disappeared from the Airplay options, yet a moment after pulling up the Airplay menu, it will slide right back in as if it's just been discovered. I can reselect the AppleTV and start Airplaying again, but only for a limited time. I have reproduced this issue with the AppleTV both wired with Ethernet and over our wifi network.

However, I'm not "the network guy." He is not an Apple user and isn't particularly helpful in resolving this issue, since it seems to be isolated to Apple devices. What I have gleaned thus far is that is does appear to be related to the network. We have a separate "off-campus" wifi network that we use for testing. When I switch to this network, Airplay works perfectly for as long as I ask it to. When I switch it back to the regular school network, the Airplay becomes inconsistent again.

What can I tell him? He believes me that it's a network issue, but is uninterested in fixing it because he doesn't know where to look or what settings to change. If only I could start suggesting possible solutions for him. Can anyone offer any guidance?

Thanks.