Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Best setup for live sessions

Hi!

1- Can you tell me please if with MainStage 3 i can REALLY play live session with severals VST Instruments loaded inside and a macBook pro i5 + 16G ram?

There is anyone that play live with MainStage that can tell me something, please?

2- And then, do you know if exist a reference or glossary Guide for writing my midi script with the script editor...i can't find anything about the language used by mainstage...applescript or javascript or other?!!

PLEASE give me some informations i'm going crazy 😟 ?

Thanks!

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on Feb 18, 2015 1:10 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 18, 2015 4:27 AM

Hi DinoDcn,

I'm not an expert at this, but I have been experimenting with using MS3 live in a pop/party/dance cover band. I've tested it on a 2.5GHz i5 Mac Mini with 4GB RAM and a 2.53 Core Duo Mac Mini with 6GB RAM and a SSD. Both computers have run a variety of VSTs without overloading either processor. The Core Duo with the SSD actually runs faster than the i5. The processor is a lot slower but the SSD makes loading and recalling data a lot faster. I will eventually look at upgrading to a fast i7 Mac Mini with lots of RAM and a SSD, but I can't afford it now.

The strength of the system is the quality of the sounds and the ability to edit them and switch from patch to patch quickly. In the end, I plan to rack mount a Mac Mini with a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 for audio and an AirPort so I can communicate with MS3 and the Mac Mini when required. This is mainly for shutdown of the system. I have MS3 opening in performance mode on power up.