Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Dictation on macbook not working

How can I get the diction to work on macbook. I do fn fn, speak, then fn and nothing appears. Any ideas? Thanks!

Posted on Feb 21, 2015 1:01 PM

8 replies

Feb 22, 2015 2:48 PM in response to cbushacker

Dictating to:

• App = Pages
  • Version = 5.2.2

see, you did know after all. 😉 Pages is an exemplar used by Apple, so that should not be any issue.

Since the early days of Text-to-Speech & Speakable Items, I always found it more trouble than it was worth as a novelty to me - so I have no direct experience, but can imagine that following the Directions would be paramount in achieving any level of success

Mac Basics: Dictation lets you speak text instead of typing - Apple Support

OS X Mavericks: Use Dictation to create messages and documents

The microphone used and levels are likely mission critical. I have some extensive experience in sound recording & live production, both analog & digital, and mic levels & quality are the most important part in the chain of events.

A test would be to record you voice in QuickTime or some other App and play it back for proof that you have that much covered.

Let us know if this helps in any way - or not.

ÇÇÇ

Mar 9, 2015 10:37 AM in response to ChitlinsCC

I had the same problem....

Assuming you have confirmed your microphone is working...I followed instructions in an earlier post that recommended clearing the cache by changing a setting then rebooting, then re-selecting the setting. I also tried a previous posters recommendation to add a language. For this problem, I went to Settings>Dictation and Speech and scrolled down to add Canadian English. I then went back to main Dictation screen and turned Dictation Off. I rebooted the computer and when it came back up, I re-selected Dictation and Enhanced and it works just fine now!

Thanks to previous poster for the advice...