Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Set ComputerName with a LaunchDaemon

Hi, my first post here.

I work in a university in germany and manage about 80 Macs. The MAC-address of all machines is registered in DHCP which corresponds with a fixed IP-address and name in DNS. I have been using a script for several years which reads the name out of DNS and sets this name as ComputerName, LocalHostName and Hostname.

In 10.6 SnowLeopard, I installed this as a "StartUpItem" and it worked beautifully. When I re-image the macs at the beginning of a semester with NetRestore, I restart them a second time and they are all named correctly. So far so good.

But "StartUpItem" is deprecated, we should use a LaunchDaemon instead. I tried to do this on our transition to Mavericks, but failed. Here is the script. It is named "setdnsname.sh", it is owned by root and executable. I placed it in /Library/Scripts:

#!/bin/sh

### NOTICE:

# Set HOSTNAME=-AUTOMATIC- in /etc/hostconfig first

# This script has to run with root permissions

# The next two lines below force the waiting for the network and that DNS services are available:

ipconfig waitall

scutil -w State:/Network/Global/DNS -t 5

# Read the IP-Address from network interface en0 (ethernet cable):

IPADDRESS=`/usr/sbin/ipconfig getifaddr en0`

# Resolve FQDN from IP-Address and strip everything after (including) the first dot.

# Result is the pure name:

COMPNAME=`/usr/bin/host $IPADDRESS 2>/dev/null | /usr/bin/awk '{ print $5 }' | /usr/bin/awk -F. '{ print $1 }'`

# Set this name as HostName, LocalHostName and ComputerName:

scutil --set HostName "${COMPNAME}"

scutil --set LocalHostName "${COMPNAME}"