Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I'm new to Apple from Android. Have question regarding available storage capacity.

My new iPad is showing available storage of 2.1GB, but when connected to my computer via iTunes, the computer reports 7.57GB available. Can someone tell me which is correct? Thanks!

iPad Air, iOS 8.1.3

Posted on Feb 26, 2015 9:28 AM

5 replies

Feb 26, 2015 1:06 PM in response to Phil0124

Hi,

I find the available storage when I go to Settings>General>About...

I have an iPad Air 2, newest generation...only have had it a couple of days...

With my Samsung tablet I had, the storage amount on the device always agreed with the report from the computer

when I connected the tablet. This discrepancy with the iPad I do not understand....😕. I just want to know how much

space I really have....

Thanks!

Feb 26, 2015 1:16 PM in response to tlafemme777

Here's what I've found that usually corrects the discrepancies between the device & iTunes...a simple device reset. Unplug the device from the PC, then do the reset, then reconnect to the PC/Mac and check it again under iTunes.

Device Reset (won't affect settings/data/music/apps/etc)

1. Press and hold (& continue to hold) BOTH the Sleep/Wake button & the Home button.

2. Continue to hold BOTH (ignoring any other messages that may show) until you see the Apple logo on the screen.

3. Release BOTH buttons when you see the Apple logo and allow the device to boot normally.

Feb 26, 2015 1:22 PM in response to tlafemme777

I agree with SergZak, usually both numbers should agree. If they don't a reset may fix that as it will recalculate.

If you go to Settings->General->Usage Does the Storage there agree with the 2.1GB?

Form there if you tap on Manage Storage you should see a list of Apps and how much storage their files and data are using. That should also agree.

With that said, iTunes is generally correct.