Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

2 users with same User ID, Big Problems

I currently have User A from macbook 1 (old user I no longer use) and User B from macbook 2 and 3 (new user I've been using for ~4 years).

I had upgraded from macbook 1 to 2 to 3 and am currently running 10.9.5

I thought I had deleted User A through Finder a couple months ago. Since then I've been having mild annoying issues

- ppt crashes in slideshow

- quicktime player won't open

- installer doesn't work most of the time

- sometimes, my current user B will randomly switch to user A while my computer is on

- Some applications will randomly complain they can't open because they can't find User A's directory.

I ran dscacheutil -q user | grep -A 3 -B 2 -e uid:\ 5'[0-9][0-9]' and found

name: A

password: ************

uid: 501

gid: 20

dir: /Users/A

shell: /bin/bash

--

--

name: B

password: ************

dir: /Users/B

Running the command . -list /groups GroupMembership | grep user

returns nothing for user A and returns the following for user B:

_appserveradm B

_appserverusr B

_lpadmin B

admin root B

com.apple.sharepoint.group.1 B

I'm at my wit's end here. I tried using console to debug the reason behind why certain applications crash and the common theme seems to be "com.apple.launchd.peruser.501: (......................................) Could not setup Mach task special port 8: (os/kern) invalid argument"

MacBook Pro, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on Feb 26, 2015 10:46 AM

10 replies

Feb 26, 2015 11:05 AM in response to agarcia59

The simple answer…

Back up the Mac, erase the internal disk, reinstall OS X, use Migration Assistant to move the user data back. It will give the users new user ID's & set the correct permissions on their files. You can reinstall apps to put the OS into a 'known good state'. Personally I would avoid migrating apps & 'other files' so that apps can be clean installed.