Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Do we have a version control, at any allocated or specified location, everytime we save the file or change the file in a specific location?

Operating System : Yosemite OS X

I am trying to find a way to be able to extract the previous working versions of the file without having to add these files to any source control or IDE.

Like I want to be able to retrieve and revert the last version of my ms docs or any other file for that matter. I have seen that there was something like this in OS X lion.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!Do we have a version control for any allocated everytime we save the file or change the file in a specific location?

Posted on Feb 26, 2015 4:37 PM

11 replies

Feb 26, 2015 4:54 PM in response to sbYosemite

sb

I was a new media developer for many years. I learned that I must do version control for adding functionality coding, so I got in the habit of CMD+SHIFT+S - SaveAs iterations... filename+date+01.ext > 02, 03, 04, etc. [a lot easier if set "Do not show extension" pref set] - no helper app, just did when it was called for, now just a habit.

ÇÇÇ

Feb 26, 2015 6:59 PM in response to sbYosemite

Versions still exists in OS X Yosemite. It hasn't "quietly disappeared" at all.

Microsoft has not supported it, though. So, you won't be able to use it with their products.

Most of the Apple apps are supported.

It works like the Time Machine interface. Not only can you restore a whole, previous version, but you can also cut and paste parts of older versions into the current one.

Feb 26, 2015 7:29 PM in response to Barney-15E