Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I create folders or stacks for open documents in Pages?

I'm a professor, and I have a lot of papers to grade, which leads to a lot of open documents. I'm wondering if there's a way to create folders or stacks for open documents, so I can easily organize them while keeping them open. I know I can put things in folders and stacks when they're closed, but I'm hoping to find a way to be more organized while still having all the documents open, since I need to toggle fairly quickly between them. I'm using version 4.3, so it's probably time for me to update--any pointers, on any version, would be useful, and I'll update accordingly. Thanks!

MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013), OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on Feb 27, 2015 6:49 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 27, 2015 8:25 AM

Let's say you put all of the papers to grade in a new folder you have named ToGrade. You can drag/drop this folder onto the the right side of the Dock that contains the engraved icons. Depending on the display options you set for this alias, you can see all of your documents in a window as a grid, list, or fan.

Let's say you have several papers to grade — concurrently open in Pages '09 v4.3. You can switch between individual open document windows with the command+` (that is the back-tic below esc) keyboard shortcut. In practice, this document switching is quick.

The first paragraph may be a means to organize for the second paragraph's utility.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 27, 2015 8:25 AM in response to megfw

Let's say you put all of the papers to grade in a new folder you have named ToGrade. You can drag/drop this folder onto the the right side of the Dock that contains the engraved icons. Depending on the display options you set for this alias, you can see all of your documents in a window as a grid, list, or fan.