Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Clean Install of Mavericks on new SSD - Final Question

I am looking for some help installing a new SSD into my mid-2010 Macbook Pro. I have the 15 inch with i5 and 4GB of RAM. last week I upgraded to 8GB of RAM, purchased from Crucial, and am about to install a MX100 512GB SSD also purchased from Crucial. I have read about the issues with third party drives in Yosemite and because of this I will keep Mavericks until I learn more.

My goal has been to get the new SSD into the computer and treat it like a brand new computer completely clean. This I learned was considered a "Clean InstalI". I am not very good with computers and sometimes the discussions I've read on the internet can generalize things and not define each step like a complete novice like me would need. So I have done a lot of research and below have a step by step guide on how I intend to do a clean install of the operating system onto my new SSD. I am looking for validation that this is correct or any steps I need to adjust.

I had asked a question about 2 months ago that lead me into the direction of doing the clean install. Drew helped out quite a bit and got me started on researching what I need to do for this clean install. There were some comments I had a question with. His notes are in italics and my questions are in bold.

During install use Setup Assistant (it's basically the same as Migration Assistant).

Connect the old HD (Can I connect to my external HD that backed up my old HD via Time Machine?) & choose the option to migrate the User account (leave the applications & other data disabled). (what happens if I opt to not do this step, not migrating User account information, what would be the Pros / Cons... another basic question I guess would be what exactly is in these User Accounts... anything that if I did not migrate over would give me issues?)