Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook problem - this is a complicated one...

MacBook Pro - snow leopard - 15inch, 2.53ghz dual mid 2009

I've been using macs for some 20 yrs, this current machine has served me well for some 5+ years, so I consider myself an experienced user, I'm totally at home with mac gear, fitting ram, hard drives etc etc (the machine is factory standard, apart form a new hard drive fitted as an attempt to resolve these problems)

The problem started last week when the spinning beachball appeared on startup when one enters the password/selects the user. No matter what, the ball persisted. I reset, pram, nvram, smc, reinstalled all my files etc from a time machine back up, all to no avail. Any and all peripherals have been detached to check it wasn't a conflict issue there, even the apple power cable.

Days have been spent on this. I've run the apple hardware test (extended) on the utilities disk - all ok. I've run diskwarrior, techtool pro deluxe, onyx.... all find no hardware faults whatsoever - only software ones: minor file issues which have all been resolved without issue.

I've reset permissions, disk verification etc..

Then I've 100% erased the disk and reinstalled the entire system software and then it would start up, but hang once one it got part way through the numerous questions - eg: select language, country, etc..