Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I upgraded ram recently to 28GB of RAM now freezing and crashing.

I recently bought and put in RAM into my computer. I have a late 2013 Imac 27". I am a Web Developer and needed the memory to run programs I work with. At random times my computer will freeze and then Restart. It is PNY ram which now reading may be unstable. Stinks because I spent almost $300 on ram and now Its been to long to return it to best buy. Before purchasing I did research and this ram is compatible.

User uploaded file

Here is a screenshot of my error log after computer restarted.

User uploaded file

Is there anything that I can do to possibly solve this problem besides replacing the ram?

I did try taking it out and putting it back in and it did "Click" for each chip inserted.

Thanks in advanced for the help!

iMac (27-inch, Late 2013), OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on Mar 2, 2015 9:56 PM

7 replies

Mar 2, 2015 10:29 PM in response to Chodemode

Not really.

The only correct, compatible and reliable Mac RAM can ONLY be purchased from online RAM sources Crucial memory or OWC (http://www.macsales.com).

OWC is a all Mac specialty company.

If the RAM isn't working, it is not working. Macs are PICKY about the specs of the RAM. If the specs of the RAM are not right or slightly off, especially the timing latency ( has to be below 11 ns), the RAM can be problematic.

PNY is more of a PC RAM manufacturer as Windows PCs are more forgiving of lesser spec'd. RAM

You are going to need to replace the RAM.

Even it you can get the RAM you purchased to function in your Mac, the existing RAM you installed will only cause your Mac issues later down the road.

Replace it with RAM from Crucial RAM ( directly from their website, NOT from Amazon.com) or from OWC(macsales.com).

Mar 3, 2015 3:14 AM in response to babowa