Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Pro Will Not Turn On Following Self-Repairs!

Hi Everyone.

I have a Mid-2009 Macbook Pro 13" and a few of my keys stopped working (took it to Apple and was told I needed to replace the entire Top Case (about $200)). I also have a problematic trackpad (doesn't click) and need a new battery. Being a desperately broke student, I can't really afford to make major repairs through Apple and can't buy a new laptop. Anyways, I met a girl at the Apple store who told me her laptop crashed (also a Mid-2009 model) but the battery, trackpad and keyboard were functioning perfectly. So, I ended up buying the entire laptop off her for $50 (but she took the hard-drive).

These are the steps I took:
1) I put my hard-drive into the newly purchased Macbook Pro, it turned on but did not boot (went through many steps and arrived at the conclusion based on others with similar problems that it was a logic board problem).

2) I removed the logic board from the new Macbook Pro and replaced it with the logic board from my macbook pro. I followed every instruction carefully according to iFixIt self-repair guide...

3) I try turning on the new Macbook Pro but the power button simply does not respond when I try to turn it on....

Any ideas????

Posted on Mar 3, 2015 2:56 PM

19 replies

Mar 3, 2015 3:36 PM in response to sohaibm.99

You may have missed something which will require that you go through the process again and make certain that every connection is solid. Don't feel bad, it took me two tries to get it right installing the logic board when I resuscitated my 2006 MBP.

From a software perspective, try SMC and NVRAM resets:

http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201295

http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063

Ciao.

Mar 3, 2015 4:25 PM in response to sohaibm.99

Lets get this straight…

Your Macbook Pro 13"

Symptoms: dying trackpad & battery issue.