Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to deal with huge old stockpile of footage ala "Mr. Brainwash"??

Total newbie who is feeling a little stuck, and could really use some help dealing with a "video hoarding paralysis"...

Here's what I've got: about 250gb of clips, covering a span of 5 years and a dozen main projects.

I did all of the original uploading to iMovie on an old MBP, and made some quick youtube videos with some of the stuff.

I now have all those iMovie events and projects on an external HD, with a new(er) 2012 iMac, and considering what to do next.

=> Possibly migrate over here to FCP, and start working with somebody more skilled with the editing process, towards a final cut or short series of edits, featuring all my past work. A showreel sort of thing.

For those who have seen the film, I guess its similar to Thierry Guetta aka "Mr Brainwash" in Exit Through The Giftshop-- the way he kept stockpiling years of footage of street artists (then just sitting on it)... until Banksy came along and patched it together for the full-length documentary.

Anyways, I'm looking for help/suggestions/anything to get going on this. I'd like to try and clean up all my clips and get them well-organized, or in a presentable enough state, to then share with a skilled editor and eventually do something more professional with it.

Suggestions on where to begin would be really helpful right now. Thanks for reading.

iMac (21.5-inch, Late 2012), OS X Yosemite (10.10.1)

Posted on Mar 5, 2015 6:55 AM

8 replies

Mar 5, 2015 7:58 AM in response to whatspo

It's a common problem, legacy clips and legacy projects. At least you've got them on a disk. ton's of mine are on 3/4" and betacam. Irretrievable, utterly lost.