Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to convert from Finder Object reference to POSIX path

I'm new to AppleScript. I'm super close to getting what I need done, but I've ran across a snag in the middle.

The error I'm getting is Can’t make quoted form of POSIX path of item 1 of {«class docf» \"filename\" of «class cfol» \"foldername\" of «class cfol» \"Desktop\" of «class cfol» \"Username\" of «class cfol» \"Users\" of «class sdsk» of application \"Finder\"} into type Unicode text. the problem area is highlighted and notated below. I've looked all around online but can't find what I need.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

set text item delimiters to "."

tell application "Finder"

set theFilestoChoose to every item of (choose file with prompt "Please select the file(s) you would like to move and rename" with multiple selections allowed) as list

display dialog "Would you like to move these files to an existing folder and then rename them, or create a new folder and then rename them?" buttons {"Move to an existing folder and rename", "Create a new folder and rename"}

if result = {button returned:"Move to an existing folder and rename"} then

set firstnewname to "Aauuttoommaattoorr"

repeat with index from 1 to the count of theFilestoChoose

set theFilesChosenbeingrenamedfirsttime to item index of theFilestoChoose

set filenamecount to text items of (get name of theFilesChosenbeingrenamedfirsttime)

if number of filenamecount is 1 then

set fileextension to ""

else

set fileextension to "." & item -1 of filenamecount

end if

set the name of theFilesChosenbeingrenamedfirsttime to firstnewname & index & fileextension as string

end repeat

log theFilesChosenbeingrenamedfirsttime

set choosingtheplacetomove to choose folder with prompt "Select the folder to move to"

set thechosenfoldersname to name of folder choosingtheplacetomove -- sets the folder name as text