Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I continue to have access to my various Aperture libraries (~1.5 TB) for future use?

I am a professional photographer and run a small business. I have used Aperture since its inception and now have ~1.5 TB of photos in various Aperture libraries spanning several years. How do I preserve all of this work so that i don't lose access to it when Aperture finally dies?

Brad Moore

Brad Moore Photography

Mac mini, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), Server

Posted on Mar 5, 2015 11:04 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 5, 2015 11:39 AM

Which version of Aperture are you running? If you have upgraded to Aperture 3.6, you will be able to open all Aperture libraries with the new Photos.app. Aperture libraries and Iphoto Libraries can be migrated losslessly to Photos.

Aperture 3.6 will soon no longer be available for purchase. If you need to upgrade, do it soon.

Since Photos does not have all editing tools Aperture had, you may want to migrate to other professional applications, Lightroom, Capture One Pro. But there is no lossless migration path.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 5, 2015 11:39 AM in response to bmoorehome

Which version of Aperture are you running? If you have upgraded to Aperture 3.6, you will be able to open all Aperture libraries with the new Photos.app. Aperture libraries and Iphoto Libraries can be migrated losslessly to Photos.

Aperture 3.6 will soon no longer be available for purchase. If you need to upgrade, do it soon.

Since Photos does not have all editing tools Aperture had, you may want to migrate to other professional applications, Lightroom, Capture One Pro. But there is no lossless migration path.

Mar 5, 2015 12:16 PM in response to léonie

Thanks for your quick response. Yes, I am running version 3.6 and have been keeping it updated, so I can see Photos.app as one pathway.