Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

delete a user account and keep programmes

I transferred via "migration assistant" what I thought was all my stuff on an older Mbook pro to a new Mbook pro 15" retina, somehow it set up another user account (my old Mbook account ) as well. Problem is there is the full OEDictionary on my "old account" but not on the new account, I can access the OED by signing in to the "old account", which is a nuisance, because I have to sign out of the "new account", I would like to preferably delete the "old user account" and keep the OED and other programmes on the "new account" , sorry if the explanation is a bit "round the houses" but I am not a Mac expert! Any help greatly appreciated.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on Mar 6, 2015 12:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 6, 2015 12:21 PM

Transferring files from one User Account to another. This may be easier than any other solution. Third-party applications can easily be re-installed from their original media.

Next, open Users & Groups preferences, click on the lock icon and enter your admin password. Select the "old" account then click on the Delete [-] button. Do not select the option to delete securely as that could take days.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 6, 2015 12:21 PM in response to fortepiano

Transferring files from one User Account to another. This may be easier than any other solution. Third-party applications can easily be re-installed from their original media.

Next, open Users & Groups preferences, click on the lock icon and enter your admin password. Select the "old" account then click on the Delete [-] button. Do not select the option to delete securely as that could take days.

Mar 6, 2015 1:08 PM in response to fortepiano

FWIW: