Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iOS photo app uploading deleted photos to iCloud photo library

I recently tried the iCloud photo library, but discovered that my iPhone will upload photos which have been deleted. When I discovered this, I immediately cleared out the "recently deleted photos" on my iPhone but to no avail. I've restarted my iphone and synced it with my mac, but it's still uploading old deleted photos.

This is a huge waste of data and bandwidth, especially since I'm a poor photographer so will take a dozen shots and only keep the best one. Then I log onto iCloud photos, open the photos app on my iPhone, and it immediately continues uploading all my deleted photos. When I open the photo and video settings on my iPhone, there is a progress bar showing that it was 100+ photos to upload even though only 10 of those are still accessible on my device because the others have been permanently deleted. Something funky going on here where photos must be uploaded, even if deleted and impossible to view on the iPhone?

I do not use my photo stream and do not have that enabled.

iPhone 5, Model A1429

Posted on Mar 17, 2015 8:49 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 8, 2017 12:11 PM

Send Apple feedback. They won't answer, but at least will know there is a problem or a suggestion for change. If enough people send feedback, it may get the problem/suggested change solved sooner.

Feedback

10 replies

Apr 6, 2017 3:00 AM in response to iPierluigi

We are already in 10.3.1 and we continue with the same.

Once you start uploading something you can already remove it from the reel and empty the trash that is still bent on uploading it, and since it is a large video and the internet connection is bad, you already have the connection collapsed for hours.

It seems incredible the way to proceed so sloppy the icloud manager.

Apr 7, 2017 8:36 AM in response to kaiseryeahhh