Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

First Macbook: Should I get the Air or Pro Retina?

I just got accepted to graduate school and wanted to splurge on a new laptop as I have had my Asus laptop for over 6 years and it is PAINFULLY slow.

I will be using it for school but here is my thing:

I dont want to invest in something that is not going to last my 3 years of graduate school.

I thought I was set on buying the Air but then I started to see articles saying the Air is at the end of its time. What do you guys think? Air or Pro Retina? I am completely new to Apple (besides having an iPad) and would like your input!!!

MacBook Air

Posted on Mar 17, 2015 10:54 AM

4 replies

Mar 17, 2015 11:02 AM in response to gomezgurl101

Congratulations!!

The MBA like the yet to come out new MB are both very light and easy to carry around. The MBPs are heavier and physically larger, but they are also more powerful - substantially so. So, for you the answer may be simple. What's more important to you: weight or performance?

If you to to the online Apple Store you can see the specs for all of Apple's laptops. Use the information to help make your choice.

Mar 17, 2015 1:22 PM in response to gomezgurl101

Whether whatever you buy will last you 3 years is going to be largely dependent on what you intend to do with it and how much you want to spend.

The MBP can be substantially more powerful than a MBA. It's also to beef up a MBA to the point that it is more powerful than the low end of the MBP line.

The first question is, what do you need to do? What kind of work? Do you need to run specialized applications? Will you be doing work that involves a lot of heavy lifting? Video editing, heavy photo editing, etc? If not, then the power of one over the other starts to become less of an issue.