Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari HTML5 Audio Delay

I am a web designer. I have created a line of estores which feature dynamically loaded front-end audio previews via HTML5 audio.

I understand Safari has a built in failsafe for mobile users which causes the audio to be reloaded each time causing a 2-5 second delay in audio playback.

With that being said....is there a fix? Is there a workaround? I have tried numerous API with no luck, and I cannot seem to find any documentation of anyone ever FIXING this issue or even addressing a workaround or solution.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

API I have tried are as follows:

Ion.Sound

Howler.js

Jplayer

HTML5 Audio

Thank you,

Zak

Safari-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.7.5), Tried Ion.Sound, Howler.js, Jplayer

Posted on Mar 21, 2015 8:38 AM

13 replies

May 20, 2017 3:26 AM in response to zakpucci2

The original site in this question no longer exists so you can't really follow along with the details.

But this is still an issues in desktop safari. Whenever you play a sound, it delays it 1/2 to 1 second. Even if you are clicking a play button that just plays the same tiny little sound effect with each click, it will always be delayed. This has been a problem with desktop Safari for years. Compare it to Chrome or Firefox, which have nearly perfect, nearly instant audio using HTML5 audio.

But Safari desktop lags. Making a sound effect 3/4 of a second after someone clicked an object is very noticeable.

It makes more sense on iOS, but even there, it should be something you can override in code. My sound effects are tiny, yet are very important to my site (more of a webapp than a site). The sounds are smaller than the images, and the images auto-load of course. This isn't 1994.

So I'm just posting a reply to this thread to let people know that this is still an issue with Safari desktop.