Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macbook a1181 cannot access System Preference or any apps such as Safari, iPhoto, etc. How can I fix this?

Hi, I recently purchased a used MacBook a1181 and cannot access anything. I am new to Apple computers/laptops so I don't know if there is a simple solution or if it's maybe a HD problem? I tried to go into System Preferences and nothing happens. The dock (?) at the bottom also has a bunch of question marks. When I scroll over the question marks, I can see apps like Safari, iPhoto, etc. but I cannot open anything. I also tried to go to About this Mac and can't get anywhere either. Any ideas what could be wrong?

MacBook, A1181

Posted on Mar 24, 2015 6:27 PM

7 replies

Mar 25, 2015 1:31 AM in response to spudnuty

The Order No. is MA472LL/A Original MacBook1,1. It is a 2.0GHz Core Duo with 1GB SDRAM and 80GB HD. I find it by removing the battery.

This is one of the problems I am having. When I go to the Apple and then click on About This Mac, the More Info... option is grayed out so I cannot view the details of the MacBook. When I click on System Preferences, nothing happens so I cannot change settings or users.

When I tried to re-install the OS, the disc would spin and then eject. I tried several different installation CDs and even an external DVD player and each time the CD ejected out without installing. I would appreciate any advise on what I can do to get this MacBook up and running. Thank you!

Mar 25, 2015 9:38 AM in response to risris72

" The dock (?) at the bottom also has a bunch of question marks"

So usually that means that the applications are missing. It's like in a PC where the "Short Cut" link is broken.

"When I scroll over the question marks, I can see apps like Safari, iPhoto, etc. but I cannot open anything."

So just like when shortcuts are broken and for the same reason: applications are moved, renamed etc.

and with this: