Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how do I transfer apps from one ipad to another

Let me start off by saying that itunes confuses the crap out of me. I am a moderately saavy tech person and even spent a morning watching youtube tutorials a while back and still I can barely figure what to do in itunes. I get by.

So, my son had an ipad and we have bought an app through the app store that was around 30$. It was an educational thing, so an important one. Got him a new ipad yesterday and now I need that old app to be transferred onto the new ipad. Called the app company who said I needed to do it through itunes. So I hooked up the old ipad to my computer, it opens up itunes and asks if I want to update. I figure yes. Start the update. Says it will take 6 hours. Cancel the update. I click on the ipad icon in the top left and see at the bottom of the next screen, a sync option. I figure, ok, I need to sync this so that the app is now on my computer so I can then transfer it to the new ipad, right? I sync. I unplug the old and plug in the new ipad. I sync again, thinking, ok, now it should be there, right? Nope. I check the app list....it's not there. 5 dozen other stupid kid apps making food and hairstyles...no educational app. I plug the old one back in...this is useless. I can't figure out how to see the educational app on the old ipad through my computer....

What the heck am I doing wrong!?!

iPad Mini, iOS 8.2

Posted on Mar 25, 2015 1:27 PM

3 replies

Mar 25, 2015 1:53 PM in response to 6kents

Syncing copies content from your computer's iTunes to the device.

If the app is still in the store then you should be able to redownload it directly on the new iPad via the Purchased tab in its App Store app.