Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macbook air vs macbook pro

Hi all,

Currently have a macbook air however, after visiting the apple store, am tempted by exchanging for retina macbook pro. Just a few questions: does the extra 200 or so grams of the pro feel noticeable in a bag (I am a student)? Also, the main reason I initially did not get the pro was due to numerous anti-reflective coating issues associated with previous macbook pro models (coating comes off due to pressure on the screen, gentle cleaning, etc.) and I didn't want to risk it. Does anyone know if this issue has been resolved in the 2015 models?

Thanks!

Posted on Mar 26, 2015 6:36 PM

6 replies

Jul 4, 2015 3:30 PM in response to BladeFURY

Please note that according to the very active thread that I link to below, as recently as last week some consumers are still being turned away with the 'cosmetic damage' line and told to foot the bill themselves, while others are seeing repairs done outside of warranty. Since there is not yet any official stance on this from Apple, at this stage you are by no means guaranteed to be covered by Apple Care should your model develop signs of this defect.

As far as the 2015 model goes, it's still too early to say, in most cases that have been reported so far, the problem seems only to have manifest itself after about 8-12 months or more of regular use, so if nothing in the manufacturing process has changed then reports should start surfacing soon enough.