Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Early 2008 MacBook HD replacment

This is my first time replacing a new, blank HD on a MacBook without an OS on it. How do i get OS X 10.6.8 onto it in the easiest way possible? Thanks, and it also has a CD drive, if that helps with anything LOL.

Specs:

-2.4GHz Processor (Intel Core 2 Duo T8300)

-4GB of RAM

-2008 13.3" Apple MacBook

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Doesn't have the OS installed on it

Posted on Mar 29, 2015 7:58 AM

7 replies

Mar 29, 2015 11:37 AM in response to drake.bebe

Based on the information that you have provided, I believe that you have a early 2008 Macbook.

The original OSX for that Macbook was Leopard (10.5).

The easiest way to install Snow Leopard (10.6) is to purchase the Snow leopard retail disk:

store.apple.com/us/product/MC573Z/A/mac-os-x-106-snow-leopard

After installation, I suggest running the Snow Leopard combo update:

https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1399?locale=en_US

Ciao.

Mar 29, 2015 12:56 PM in response to drake.bebe

Make clone drive with Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper is the easiest way to get the same environment.

1) Put blank HDD into external enclosure and connect your MacBook

2) Format external drive with DiskUtility

3) Open Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper!

4) Source drive is internal HDD and destination drive is external one.

5) Make clone.

Mar 30, 2015 5:43 PM in response to drake.bebe

drake.bebe wrote:

... i can put the OS in the CD drive and do the disk utility after i put in the hard drive