Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I updated iPhoto this morning and when the system restarted there was nothing in iPhoto. It wasn't backed up to my external HD. Is there a way to restore or find what was lost?

I am running Yosemite 10.10.2 and I updated iPhoto to most recent release. All of my pictures and videos that were in the library are now gone and I cannot locate them anywhere on my Mac HD.

Is it possible to restore my machine to an earlier date to recover them?

Are they somewhere on the machine that I am not looking?

I am not very tech savvy when it comes to things like that but I've been searching around and can't figure out what happened.

Thanks,

Z

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on Mar 29, 2015 9:59 AM

7 replies

Mar 29, 2015 10:33 AM in response to léonie

When I opened iPhoto it gave me a prompt that said I needed to either Upgrade or Quit and that an upgrade could take up to several hours. I selected upgrade and the progress bar was done in seconds. iPhoto launched and there was nothing there - it looked like a fresh install.

I restarted the machine, launched iPhoto again and was met with the same experience.

I'm sorry, I'm not sure which version I was running before the upgrade. Is there a way to check?

Thank you!

Mar 29, 2015 11:16 AM in response to zkane923

I'm sorry, I'm not sure which version I was running before the upgrade. Is there a way to check?

Only by looking at the iPhoto application on your last backup.

I selected upgrade and the progress bar was done in seconds. iPhoto launched and there was nothing there - it looked like a fresh install.

Either the upgrade corrupted your iPhoto Library, or the library is on an external disk, where iPhoto cannot access it and iPhoto created a new, empty library.

Where is your iPhoto library stored? On your system drive in the Pictures folder or on an external drive?