Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Which MB Pro to buy?

Hi,

I need to replace my old MB Pro. It's many years old and has served me well. It's a workhorse and just won't quit. However it has gotten very slow and is starting to show other signs that it's time for a new one.

I am trying to compare the three MB Pros now available: 13", 13" with retina and the 15".

-My main question is speed. Which is fastest given the specs it comes with out of the box?

-Screen doesn't matter too much as I use an external Apple Cinema Display screen. I am a photographer. There are times when I'll have just the computer (traveling) but usually I have the big external screen. Are all compatible with that? I really can't afford a new external screen and I'd have to get two for two locations. The computer has to have a port that accepts the Cinema Display's cable, which has two square sets of nine pins. Cinema Display also needs firewire and usb ports.

-I don't need CD drive. I do need several usb ports.

Thank you!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.4.9)

Posted on Mar 30, 2015 5:09 AM

11 replies

Mar 31, 2015 5:24 PM in response to Phinney

HI Phinney!

I had the same question before I bought my MacBook Pro. My requirements were the fastest processor, a big display and good graphics.

What appealed to me was the 15" MacBook Pro with Retina display. I selected the 2.5Ghz model. It has decent RAM @16GB and two graphics cards.

The Nvidia GeForce and Intel Iris Pro. When I got it I was glad that I had made a good decision. though I was inclined towards the 13" because it was cheaper,

I realized that a big screen was what I wanted. You don't strain yourself or anything and the Notebook just doesn't lag.

Its really up to you-- You could go for a 13" and max out everything (if you are going to be using a display for most of the time) or a 15" and max out.

The 15" maxed out should cost you about $3000 give or take.