Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My iMac (or iPad, or iPhone or Macbook) won't communicate/find my printer.

The problem started when I changed my router.

The printer (Epson XP-405) says that WiFi connection is working and printer physically works as test page is printing.

I'm not very tech savvy, so detailed answers appreciated.

I have the IP address of the printer, the subnet mask and default gateway addresses (whatever these may mean - these are from the auto set up on the printer). I have removed the printer software and printer from the printer list and re-installed to no avail. I do not have a usb connector (this may be my next option). I have tried setting the printer up in System Preferences using the IP address and all 3 protocols to no avail. When I try to add the error message says 'Unable to connect to 'IP Address' due to an error. Would you still like to create the printer?'

I have ignored the error and created, but it doesn't work.

I have tried using ping command in terminal. These are the results .... I think it's telling me it's not reaching the printer - not sure why IP in brackets is slightly different number:

PING XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (XXX.XXX.X.Y): 56 data bytesRequest timeout for icmp_seq 0

Request timeout for icmp_seq 1

Request timeout for icmp_seq 2

Request timeout for icmp_seq 3

ping: sendto: No route to host

Request timeout for icmp_seq 4

ping: sendto: Host is down

Any help and advice would be much appreciated. I'm willing to give things a go but, as I say not very tech savvy

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Apr 5, 2015 4:59 AM

1 reply

Apr 5, 2015 7:36 AM in response to Deb7000000

Changing the router changes everything about a network. The easiest solution will be to delete your existing printer from System Preferences > Print & Scan, and add it again. Better yet is to "reset the printing system" as described here: Mac OS X: How to reset the printing system