Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPad sucking up cell data at an alarming rate

Hello,

This issue has been driving me crazy for about six months now, I could really use some help in nailing this down.

It appeared to start last Fall, around October. I started to notice that my iPad's cellular usage had increased dramatically. I had been buying 1GB at a time, and it had been lasting me 10-12 weeks. Now it seemed I’d go thru 1GB in two weeks. Generally speaking, the balance of my iPad use between “on WiFi’ and “on cellular” hadn’t changed. The only things systemically that had changed was I had become active on Twitter and Google+, and iOS 8 had been released.

The first thing I did was shut off cellular usage for Twitter and Google+, but that didn’t make a difference. Indeed, as I studied the problem (it was hard to ignore), I noticed that frequently, while doing nothing with my iPad, it just sitting in my bag with the cover closed as I drove from one place to another, I’d use up 10-15MB in 20 minutes.

When I looked at the cellular usage statistics in Settings, “Documents and Sync” (which could be more vague, but it would take some effort) seemed to be where the biggest usage was. I spoke with an Apple Store Genius, and while she couldn’t find a specific culprit, she recommended I reset my iPad and then restore from a backup. That seemed to help, in that I went thru 1GB in a month rather than two weeks; but I still got that weird effect where I would use up a huge chunk doing nothing. I started turning off cellular usage for anything for which it wasn’t essential, did the same for location services, background app refresh, and shut off Find My iPad. Not a noticeable change.