Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I use keyboard keys to control next/previous patch ?

Hi,

I'm new to MainStage. I know how to add patches to a set, and I've seen demos of how to assign whatever buttons/knobs to actions.

My keyboard controller really doesn't have any knobs or buttons, it's a basic MIDI keyboard with basically Volume and patch selection buttons (for the dozen or so patches it comes programmed with). I did try to assign the patch selection buttons to actions, didn't really succeed ?!

What I would really like is for the leftmost key on my keyboard to selection the previous patch in Mainstage, and the rightmost key to select the next patch.

Is that possible ?

Can I get step-by-step instructions please ?

Tks so much.

Macbook, Mac OS X (10.6.5)

Posted on Apr 11, 2015 9:22 AM

5 replies

Apr 14, 2015 4:58 AM in response to lifenoise

I'll just add this info in case you're needing more control in the future...

I bought a Korg Nanocontrol USB controller for this sort of thing. It's nice, cheap and compact - although I don't use all the faders. I've programmed the transport buttons and bank select buttons for next/prev song, next/prev patch, and I use the first fader for main volume and some of the others for other control things. All in all, very useful piece of kit for a very decent price. There's a variety of different models but I really only needed a volume fader with some patch change buttons so this was my choice. (I use the lowest/highest keys for triggering samples 🙂)

Apr 11, 2015 4:35 PM in response to bercy4646