Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is it possible that a virus of some sort is preventing a normal boot up even if with a clean install?

I'm new to Macs' problem but from my observation, my MBP is acting quite abnormal. At first I was using hard drive on my MBP 2012, a problem occurred, I can't start up normally it just froze on the progress bar with the apple logo, I tried all the fix I could find. And I thought my hard drive was failing so I bought a brand new ssd, and same thing happens. Now I just tried internet recovery, it seemed like it's going to work, but I have to continue my set up in safe mode (both with yosemite and Lion) internet recovery gave me Lion.

I checked the permissions with Disk Utility it always say that "should be this ...., it's currently this ...." I did the repair and it says to be complete I restart came back to find it exactly the same when I first verify it.

So I was thinking of there is a start up program that manages the boot up sequence and a virus got through, and it stays there, it that even possible?? I mean even with clean install everything should be fine, but it's not.

Now with Lion in, with normal boot up it gives me a blank white screen with an arrow that I can scroll around with... it's really frustrating

Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Apr 17, 2015 11:54 AM

7 replies

Apr 17, 2015 1:12 PM in response to tontk

I believe you. The failure to boot must therefore be related to hardware, which means a defective SSD, logic board, or the cable between the two.

Does the Mac boot to the "spinning globe" picture when using OS X Internet Recovery? If it doesn't, you're not going to get anywhere without a screwdriver.

Where did you obtain the SSD? A vendor known to support Macs, including the ability to upload the correct firmware on the SSD, or...?

Apr 17, 2015 1:34 PM in response to tontk

tontk wrote: