Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iVPN starts, but "the pptp-vpn server did not respond. Try reconnecting."

Hi. I am new to VPN, and I just got the software iVPN from Macserve, and the server starts successfully, using either PPTP or L2TP:

User uploaded file

But the connections from my network do not connect. Every time I click on "connect" for either network connection, I get the error "the pptp-vpn server did not respond. Try reconnecting."

User uploaded file

I set up both connections in my Network Preferences according to the support page (http://macserve.org.uk/support/ivpn/):

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

My Airport Express configurations have never given me any problems with my home network:

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

And I think that I forwarded the ports properly (even though my firewall is not activated):

User uploaded file

What am I doing wrong?

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.7), 17 inch

Posted on Apr 18, 2015 11:50 AM

3 replies

Apr 18, 2015 4:44 PM in response to SkippyTheWonderLizard

The Apple routers can be a problem on vpn passthrough.

Ports that are required for vpn are more complicated ..

See earlier post.. eg How do I set up L2TP VPN?

Ports for PPTP which you have opened manually.. are not valid for L2TP.. so you need several more ports opened.

The problematic ones are GRE and ESP which are protocols not ports.

I think you can pretty well assume the apple router running anything that has BTMM in it won't work.. since it will need the port 500 for itself.

On the old express try going back to 7.6.1 firmware.. I have to say I don't use the express.. lots of extreme and TC.. so their firmware issues are slightly different so firmware versions for the express are somewhat different.