Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Setting up a new iMac

I have a MacBook Pro which I've owned since October 2011. When I first got it I recall the first-time setup process asking if I had another Mac which I wanted to copy applications/settings from at the time I didn't since this was my first Mac, as a long time Windows user. Now I'm a total Mac zealot and don't have any Windows machines in the house at all.

I will be buying an iMac in the near future. Does the "make this Mac the same as another one you already own" feature still exist? I've got my MBP set up exactly how I like it and I'd like my iMac to at least start off the same and I'd rather not have to download and install all the stuff I've purchased via the AppStore. Most importantly I've been using Aperture for the last 4 years, and this has of course been dropped by Apple. Photos is a complete joke, it's a toy compared to Aperture so it's vital to me that my iMac ends with Aperture on while I figure out how to migrate my 17000+ photos in Adobe Lightroom.

MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011), OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)

Posted on Apr 19, 2015 12:32 PM

3 replies

Apr 19, 2015 12:48 PM in response to smalbon

Yes, using the "Setup Assistant" still works, however........ (and I'm not sure about this since the problem is brand new):

Since Apple dropped Aperture and iPhoto, I do not know if your older apps would be ported over as the new one will automatically have Photos installed.