Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cross Dissolve question

I'm new to FCP and having a **** of a time with transitions, or cross dissolve since that's the only one I've tried so far. I've watched tutorials and seen how they split a clip in two at the scene change, CMD-B, and then simply type CMD-T and there's a cross dissolve between the two clps, working perfectly. When I do that, there's a gray transition box between the two clips but there is no dissolve leading up to or after the split point (They are very different scenes, so I would see if it was working.). It seems I must do some further fiddling to apply the dissolve, but in the tutorials no fiddling is needed. CMD-T applies the default dissolve duration and it works immediately. What obvious thing am I missing?

iMac 24 Intel Core 2 Duo, Mac OS X (10.4.10)

Posted on Apr 19, 2015 3:00 PM

12 replies

Apr 19, 2015 4:36 PM in response to Tom Wolsky

I am being dense, I'm sorry. So how DO you cross dissolve at a shot change?

I want two scenes to blend into each other over the space of a few seconds rather than an abrupt change. If splitting and cross dissolving is not the way to accomplish this, I must be misunderstanding the tutorials. Please point me in the right direction and I think I can work it out. Thanks.

Apr 19, 2015 5:08 PM in response to John Dolan

If you're cutting on a shot change of continuous material, you have to make the cut on the shot change and then ripple back, shorten each side, by at least half a second to make the standard second transition. That creates enough material on each side of the edit point to overlap the material from one shot into the other duration the transition.

Apr 19, 2015 5:20 PM in response to Tom Wolsky