Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Pro overheats in sleep

Recently I've noticed that my MacBook Pro doesn't always go into sleep when I close the lid or even if I click "Sleep" in the Apple menu. I'm a college student, so I usually put my laptop into its sleeve and into my backpack to take to class, thinking that my computer is asleep. When I take it out it's usually really warm and you can hear the fans going off. It then takes a while to wake up and cool down. And when it does wake up, it's slow (hello spinning beachball) and sometimes freezes. I've also noticed that when I put it into sleep the display goes to sleep but the sleep indicator light doesn't pulsate on and off like it used to; it stays on for a while. Sometimes after a minute it will pulsate like it's supposed to.

I have a MacBook Pro (13", mid 2012) and keep the OS and other software up to date.

Version: OS X Yosemite 10.10.3

Processor speed: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory: 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Storage capacity: 500GB

I've tried almost all the troubleshooting steps you could find on the internet...

• Deleting junk and large files
  • Verifying and repairing permissions and disk
  • Apple Hardware Test
  • Resetting the SMC
  • Defaulting the Energy Saver options

When I put pmset -g into Terminal I get:

Active Profiles:

Battery Power 1

AC Power -1*

Currently in use:

standbydelay 4200

standby 0

womp 0

halfdim 1

hibernatefile /var/vm/sleepimage

sms 1

networkoversleep 0

disksleep 10

sleep 10 (sleep prevented by UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent, UserEventAgent)

autopoweroffdelay 14400

hibernatemode 3

autopoweroff 1

ttyskeepawake 1